0
On Hold: Discussion Open

Automatic deletion of all associated Tiles when device deleted in SmartThings

Bob Smith 2 years ago in Panels (dashboards) • updated by Terry (ActionTiles) (Co-Founder) 2 years ago 4

I noticed when I deleted my WeMo devices in hope of reinstalling so they would report better(suggested by SmartThings in their forum after recent app update), that when I delete device the tile in Action Tiles would remain with a "?"


No problem deleting tile, just wonder if it would be possible for Action Tiles to do so anytime a device is deleted in SmartThings. Thanks

Answer

Answer
Discuss & Vote

Hi Bob,


We deliberately preserve the "disconnected Tiles" on all Panels in order to avoid messing up the Panel layouts.


I suppose one option for us to consider is to convert them into "Blank Tiles"; however, there are situations where the Thing is eventually reconnected to ActionTiles by the customer with the same Device ID... i.e., if they just temporarily or accidentally removed it from the Authorized Devices and not actually deleted it from their SmartThings Location. In this situation, having preserved the Tiles is tremendously valuable, no?

Answer
Discuss & Vote

Hi Bob,


We deliberately preserve the "disconnected Tiles" on all Panels in order to avoid messing up the Panel layouts.


I suppose one option for us to consider is to convert them into "Blank Tiles"; however, there are situations where the Thing is eventually reconnected to ActionTiles by the customer with the same Device ID... i.e., if they just temporarily or accidentally removed it from the Authorized Devices and not actually deleted it from their SmartThings Location. In this situation, having preserved the Tiles is tremendously valuable, no?

Thanks for quick response, preserving layout is wise and I didn't think of that! If I delete the device and reinstall it will it occupy its original tile? When I deleted all my devices, I deleted the ? Tiles assuming I needed to?

If so, I see no reason to change anything. BTW is there any word on when SmartThings will repair status refresh of LAN devices from their update of app?

Original Tile association can only be preserved if the internal SmartThings Device Object ID is unchanged. This is not the case when you fully uninstall a Thing (that's why you have to remove it from all the SmartApps first).