Discuss

Grouping lights for off/on commands

zmz1230 7 years ago in Panels (dashboards) updated by Terry (ActionTiles) (Co-Founder) 6 years ago 12 2 duplicates

I am new to smarttiles as well as actiontiles. I am trying to group the lights in my house together by room so that if I click a button titled "kitchen lights" all the lights in the kitchen turn off/on. I have a panel for kitchen lights, with a tileset of all the kitchen lights I have. I am not sure how to add a button that allows all of them to turn on or off.

Thank you for the help!

Related Topics:

Answers

Answer
Discuss

ActionTiles is currently "just" a control panel / viewer and doesn't contain any next-level functions like automations or triggered actions.

Linking the On/Off commands for a groups (a Tileset?) of lights is a nice contained case that we have as a Feature Request already, but not sure it will get priority because there are a few fairly easy workarounds.

Consult the SmartThings Community for more options, but the simplest recommendation is to use the official SmartThings App "Smart Lighting"...

+2
PINNED

Another way to do this would be to define a "virtual switch" in the SmartThings IDE. Then you could set up an automation so that when you turn on "All Kitchen Lights" (the name of your virtual switch) it performs an action to turn on a list of lights, and likewise turning off the virtual switch would turn off all of the real switches in the list.

+1
PINNED

Now that ActionTiles offers Individual Routine Tiles (as of v6.2.2 released Mar 9th), that's one more way to provide this function.

I'm not sure that a Routine can "toggle" a group of lights, but you can create one Routine for "on" and one for "off" and add these two Routine Tiles to your Panel(s).

e.g.,

• Living Room all On
  • Living Room all Off
PINNED

We also recommend taking a look at the SmartThings Community developed SmartApp called "Trend Setter":

Duplicates 2
Answer
Discuss